History of the Health Officers Association

May 15, 1951, RSA 129:1 became effective entitling Town and City Health Officers to receive the actual expenses incurred by them in attending the yearly meeting of the New Hampshire Health Officer Associaion.

The first by-laws for the Association were adopted October 16, 1982. The Executive Board members were: President, Lawrence Slanetz, Health Officer from Durham; Vice President, Elizabeth Millard, Health Officer from Boscawen; Secretary/Treasurer, Odyssias Athanasiou, aka "Dish", Health Officer from Portsmouth; and the Executive Committee Members were Alex Burgess, Jr., Health Officer from North Conway and Eugene Blake, Health Officer from Concord.

The Association filed with the Secretary of State on Febuary 8, 1983 as a "non-profit organization in the furtherance of environmental health."

Today the Association has 150 members. It hosts two conferences a year. The Executive Board consists of nine members who meet monthly.

New Hampshire Health Officers Association                                      

Email:    Arthur Capello, President  

             Wayne Whitford, Vice President

Mailing: NH Health Officers Association, c/o Events Your Way, PO Box 237, Whitefield New Hampshire 03598                                                                            


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey